What is meant by biennial, and which vegetables are classified as biennial vegetables?

Gardens & Landscapes June 15, 2007 Print Friendly and PDF
Biennial vegetables normally require two growing seasons from seed to flowering. Biennial vegetables include beets, Brussels sprouts, cabbage, carrots, cauliflower, celery, chard, collard, endive, kale, kohlrabi, leek, onion, parsley, parsnip, rutabaga, salsify, and turnip. When young biennial plants are subjected to cold weather early during their growth, they may produce seed the first season.

Connect with us

  • Facebook


eXtension is an interactive learning environment delivering research-based information emerging from America's land-grant university system.


Donate to Gardens & Landscapes

Your donation keeps eXtension growing.

Give Now