How to Follow a Gluten-Free Diet

Food Safety June 30, 2011|Print

Celiac disease (sometimes also called gluten intolerance) is an auto immune disorder that affects an estimated 1 in 133 Americans. People with celiac disease have an auto immune disorder that is triggered by consumption of gluten (a protein found in wheat, barley and rye). The only treatment for this disorder is to eliminate sources of gluten from the diet. The following lists provide a guideline for how to follow a gluten free diet:

Foods to always avoid:

  • Barley
  • Bulgur
  • Durham
  • Farina
  • Graham flour
  • Kamut
  • Matzo meal
  • Rye
  • Semolina
  • Spelt
  • Triticale
  • Wheat

Foods to avoid unless labeled ‘gluten free’:

  • Beers
  • Bread
  • Candies
  • Cakes and pies
  • Cereals
  • Cookies
  • Crackers
  • Croutons
  • Gravies
  • Imitation meats or seafood
  • Oats
  • Pastas
  • Processed luncheon meats
  • Salad dressings
  • Sauces (including soy sauce)
  • Self-basting poultry
  • Soups

Naturally gluten-free foods:

  • Fresh meats, fish and poultry (not breaded, batter-coated or marinated)
  • Fruits
  • Eggs
  • Most dairy products (milk, butter, margarine, cream)
  • Potatoes
  • Rice
  • Vegetables
  • Beans
  • Corn
  • Nuts and seeds
  • Sugar, honey, molasses
  • Spices and herbs
  • Wine and distilled liquors, ciders and spirits

Safe grains and starches:

  • Amaranth
  • Arrowroot
  • Buckwheat
  • Corn
  • Cornmeal
  • Gluten-free flours (rice, soy, corn, potato, bean)
  • Hominy grits
  • Polenta
  • Pure corn tortillas
  • Quinoa
  • Rice
  • Tapioca

For more information on celiac disease and how to manage gluten intolerance refer to the following sources:

Mayo Clinic- gluten free diet

Gluten-free diet guide for people with newly diagnosed celiac disease

LOCATE

Donate to Food Safety

Your donation keeps eXtension growing.

Give Now

Resources

Basic Food Safety

Food Safety Druing an Emergency

Food Preservation