Material and Design Considerations for Building in Wildfire Prone Areas

Wildfire October 10, 2011|Print

Title and Description

Material and Design Considerations for Building in Wildfire Prone Areas

Home survival in wildfire prone areas depends on a combination of adequate vegetation management in the area surrounding your home (i.e., your “defensible space”) and choices regarding building materials and design decisions for the home or building. Steve Quarles has been actively involved in wildfire research and education regarding the performance of materials and building design issues. These issues will be the focus of this one hour webinar.  Information provided during this webinar will be applicable to both new construction and retrofitting existing homes or buildings.

To find out more on this important and rarely discussed facet of wildfire prevention, and how you can incorporate this into your extension or other education program, participate in an October 5, 2011 webcast hosted by the Extension Wildfire Information Network.

Date and Time Held

October 5, 2011
1:00 pm (Eastern), 12:00 pm (Central), 11:00 am (Mountain), 10:00 am (Pacific)

Recording and Resources

Recorded Webcast: Material and Design Considerations for Building in Wildfire Prone Areas
(If you are having trouble viewing this recording, try clicking your Internet browser Refresh key.)

Presentation Slides

Other Resources:

About the Speaker

Steve Quarles

Steve Quarles

Steve Quarles joined IBHS in 2011 as a senior scientist after 26 years with the University of California. His research and outreach focuses on wildfire protection for residential and light commercial buildings and improving the moisture-related durability and resilience of buildings following hurricane/high-wind events.  More on this work can be seen at http://www.disastersafety.org/Wildfire.
 

 

 


 

Topics Addressed

1.    Typical wildfire exposures for a building.

2.    Importance of “near home zone”

3.    Material and design considerations for the following components and assemblies:

a.    Roof and edge of roof (including gutter)
b.    Eave area and vents
c.    Windows
d.    Attached decks
e.    Siding

Additional Information

eXtension Wildfire Information Network Webcast Series
How to Participate in eWIN Webcasts
eWIN Webcast Troubleshooting