State and Provincial Master Gardener Programs: Extension and Affiliated Program Listings

Extension Master Gardener October 31, 2014|Print

Looking to find an Extension Master Gardener program in your state? Nearly all Master Gardener programs in the United States administer training through a state land-grant university and its Cooperative Extension Service, and are considered Extension Master Gardener programs.  Extension Master Gardeners receive and recommend university and research-based information through the Cooperative Extension System. The State Extension Master Gardener programs listed below follow these guidelines:

  • The organization is affiliated with a university for the training and education of their volunteers.
  • The focus of these organizations is to train EMG volunteers to distribute information to the public.
  • The organization recommends research-based information to the public.
  • The organization has a certification program for their volunteers.
  • The organization has an educational focus rather than promoting commercial products or entities.

Several Master Gardener programs in Canada and the U.S  are not administered by a state land-grant university or its Cooperative Extension Service, but have been affiliated with the Extension Master Gardener program through their involvement with the bi-annual International Master Gardener Conference (IMGC) and Search for Excellence awards program. Through IMGC, a tradition of volunteer and educational service are honored.

Find a State Extension Master Gardener Program Near You

Nearly all 50 states and the District of Columbia have an Extension Master Gardener program. Find an Extension Master Gardener program in your state (listed below in alphabetical order):

A | C | D | F | G | H | I | K | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | W

 

ALABAMA

Kerry Smith
101 Funchess Hall
Auburn University
Auburn, AL 36849-5630

Phone: (334) 844-3036
E-mail: smithkp@auburn.edu

 

ALASKA

Julie Riley
University of Alaska
221 E. Northern Lights Blvd., Suite 118
Anchorage, AK 99508 – 4143

Phone: (907) 786-6300
Fax: (907) 786- 6312
Email: jariley@alaska.edu

ARIZONA

Peter L. Warren
County Extension Director
Urban Horticulture Extension Agent
Pima County Cooperative Extension
College of Agriculture & Life Sciences
University of Arizona
4210 N Campbell Avenue
Tucson, AZ 85719

Phone: 520-626-5161
Email: plwarren@cals.arizona.edu

 

ARKANSAS

Janet Carson
Extension Horticulturist
Univ. of Arkansas, P.O. Box 391
2301 S. University
Little Rock, AR. 72203

Phone: (501) 671-2174
Fax: (501) 671-2303
E-mail: jcarson@uaex.edu

 

CALIFORNIA

Missy Gable
Director, UC Master Gardener Program
2801 Second StreetDavis, CA 95618-7779

Phone:  530.750.1362
Fax:  530.756.1079
Email: mjgable@ucanr.edu

 

COLORADO

David E. Whiting
Extension Consumer Horticulturist Spec.
Department of Horticulture and LA
211 Shepardson
Colorado State University
Fort Collins, CO 80523-1173

Phone: (970) 491-7030
Fax: (970) 491-7745
E-mail:david.whiting@colostate.edu

 

CONNECTICUT

Leslie Alexander
State Master Gardener & Education Program Coordinator
UConn’s Home & Garden Education Center
1380 Storrs Road unit 4115
Storrs, CT 06269

Phone: (806) 486-6343
Email: Leslie.Alexander@uconn.edu

 

DELAWARE

Valann Budischak

Delaware Cooperative Extension, Extension Agent
Univ. of Delaware Botanic Gardens, Volunteer & Education Coordinator
Delaware Nursery & Landscape Association, Executive Director
152 Townsend Hall
Newark, DE  19716-2170
Ph #:  (302) 831-4188
Email: valannb@udel.edu

 

FLORIDA

Tom Wichman
Florida Master Gardener Coordinator
University of Florida/IFAS
Environmental Horticulture Department
PO Box 110675
107 Mehrhoff Hall
Gainesville, FL 32611-0675, USA

Phone: 352-273-4521
Fax: 352-392-1413
Email:twichman@ufl.edu

 

GEORGIA

Sheri Dorn
Coordinator, Georgia Master Gardener Extension Volunteer Program
Extension Horticulture Specialist, Ornamentals
University of Georgia, Griffin Campus
1109 Experiment Street, Cowart Building
Griffin GA 30223-1731

Phone: 770-228-7243
Email: sdorn@uga.edu

HAWAII

Jayme Grzebik
Urban Horticulturist & Master Gardener Coordinator
University of Hawaii at Manoa
955 Kamehameha Hwy
Pearl City, Hawaii 96782

Phone: 808-453-6059
Email: grzebik@hawaii.edu

 

IDAHO

Robert Tripepi
University of Idaho Campus
Ag Science Building Room 335
Moscow, ID 83844-2339

Phone: 208-885-6635
Fax: 208-885-7760
Email:btripepi@uidaho.edu

 

ILLINOIS

Monica David
Illinois Master Gardener Coordinator
Research Specialist in Agriculture
University of Illinois Extension Service
Illinois Master Gardener Office
1007 Plant Sciences Lab, MC-634
1201 South Dorner Drive
Urbana, Illinois 61801

Phone: (217) 265-5256
Fax: (217) 244-3469
Email: modavid@uiuc.edu

 

INDIANA

John Orick
Purdue Master Gardener State Coordinator
Purdue University
Department of Horticulture and Landscape Architecture
625 Agricultural Mall Drive
West Lafayette, IN 47907-2010
Office location: Hort 203-B

Phone: 765/496-7956
Fax: 765.494.0391

Email: orick@purdue.edu

 

IOWA

Denny Schrock
Master Gardener Coordinators and Lecturer
Iowa State University, Department of Horticulture
137 Horticulture Hall
Ames, IA 50011-1100

Phone: 515-294-4813
Fax: 515-294-0730
Email: dennys@iastate.edu

 

 

KANSAS

Ward Upham, Extension Associate
2021 Throckmorton Hall
Manhattan, KS. 66506-5507

Phone: (785) 532-1438
Fax: (785) 532-6949
E-mail: wupham@ksu.edu

 

KENTUCKY

Rick Durham
University of Kentucky
N-318 Ag. Sci. N
Lexington, KY 40546-0091

Phone: (859)-257-3249
Fax: (859)-257-2859
Email: rdurham@uky.edu

 

LOUISIANA

Rene’ G. Schmit
P. O. Box 1766
Luling, LA., 70070

Phone: 985-785-4473
Fax: 985-785-4475
Email: rschmit@agctr.lsu.edu

 

MAINE

Amy Witt
Horticulturist
UMaine Cooperative Extension
PO Box 9300
Portland, ME 04104-9300

Phone: 207-780-4205
Fax: 207-780-4382
Email: amy.witt@maine.edu

 

Barbara Murphy
Educator
UMaine Cooperative Extension
9 Olson Road
South Paris, Maine 04281

Phone: 207-743-6329
Fax: 207-743-0373
Email: barbara.murphy@maine.edu

 

 

MARYLAND

Jon Traunfeld
Reg. Spec./ State MG Coord.
Univ. of Maryland, 12005 Homewood Rd
Ellicott City, MD. 21042

Phone: (410) 531-5572
Fax: (410) 531-5567
Email: jont@umd.edu

 

MASSACHUSETTS

No longer administered by University of Massachusetts Extension
See the Master Gardener Affiliate Programs listing for more information.
 

MICHIGAN

Mary A. Wilson
MSU Extension Southeast Region
28115 Meadowbrook Road
Novi , MI 48377-3128

Phone: 248-347-0269 x 3
Fax: (517) 355-0890
Email: wilsonm1@msu.edu

 

MINNESOTA

Tim Kenny
Director of Education, Minnesota Landscape Arboretum Statewide &
Director, Extension Master Gardener Volunteer Program
University of Minnesota Landscape Arboretum
3675 Arboretum Drive
Chanhassen, MN 55318

Phone: 612/301-3482
Email: kenny003@umn.edu

 

MISSISSIPPI

Dr. Lelia Scott Kelly
Extension Professor
Consumer Horticulture Specialist/State Master Gardener Coordinator
North Mississippi Research and Extension Center
P.O. Box 1690
Verona, MS 38879

Physical Address
North Mississippi Research and Extension Center
5421 Hwy. 145 South
Verona, MS 38879

Phone 662-566-2201
Fax: 662-566-2257
Email: leliak@ext.msstate.edu

 

MISSOURI

Missouri Master Gardener Extension Program
1-40A Agriculture Building
University of Missouri
Columbia, MO. 65211

Phone: 573-882-9633

 

MONTANA

Toby Day
State Master Gardener Coordinator
Montana State University
PO Bix 173140
Bozeman, MT 59717-3140

Phone:406-994-6523
Email:tday@montana.edu

 

NEBRASKA

Kim Todd
University of Nebraska-Lincoln
Assoc Professor, Agronomy & Horticulture
167 Keim Hall, PO Box 830915
Lincoln, NE 68583-0915

Phone: (402) 472-8618
Fax: (402)472-7904
Email: ktodd2@unl.edu

Terri James
University of Nebraska-Lincoln
Extension Assistant - Urban Gardening
172 Keim Hall, PO Box 830915
Lincoln, NE 68583-0915

Phone: (402) 472-8973
Fax: (402) 472-7904
Email: tjames2@unl.edu

     Websites & Social Media

 

NEVADA

Please contact the Extension Master Gardener program nearest you:


Central/Northeast Area:

Southern Area

Dr. Angela O’Callaghan
Southern Area Spec.
University of Nevada Cooperative Extension
8050 Paradise Road, #100
Las Vegas, NV 89123

Phone: 702-257-5581
Fax: 702-222-3100
Email:ocallaghana@unce.unr.edu

Western Area

Dr. Heidi Kratsch
Western Area Horticulture Specialist
University of Nevada Cooperative Extension
4955 Energy Way
Reno, NV 89502

Phone:  775-336-0251 (direct line), 775-784-4848 (main office)
Fax: 775-784-4881
Email: kratschh@unce.unr.edu

Websites and Social Media:

 

NEW HAMPSHIRE

Marcy Stanton
Master Gardener Coordinator
UNH Cooperative Extension
200 Bedford Street, North Annex
Manchester, NH 03101

Phone: 603-629-9494 Ext. 110
Fax: 603-629-9998
Email: marcy.stanton@unh.edu

 

NEW MEXICO

Dr. Natalie Goldberg
Department of Extention Plant Sciences
P.O. Box 30001, MSC-3AE
945 College Ave, Room N140
Las Cruces, NM 88003

Phone - (575) 646-1687
E-mail - ngoldber@nmsu.edu

 

NEW JERSEY

Nicholas Polanin
Rutgers University-NJ Ag Experiment Station
310 Milltown Rd
Bridgewater, NJ 08807

Phone: 908-526-6293
Fax: 908-704-1821
Email:polanin@rce.rutgers.edu

 

NEW YORK

Lori Brewer
Leader of Adult and Family Education
Cornell Garden-based Learning Program
134b Plant Science
Department of Horticulture
Cornell University, Ithaca, NY 14853

Phone: 607-255-5918
Fax: 607-255-9998
Email:ljb7@cornell.edu

 

NORTH CAROLINA

Lucy Bradley
State Master Gardener Coordinator and Extension Specialist, Urban Horticulture
Department of Horticultural Sciences
NC State University
Campus Box 7609
Raleigh, NC. 27695-7609

Phone: (919) 513-2001
Fax: (919) 515-2505
Email:Lucy_Bradley@ncsu.edu

 

NORTH DAKOTA

Esther E McGinnis, Ph.D.
Extension Horticulturist and Assistant Professor
Dept of Plant Sciences
Office: 166H Loftsgard Hall
NDSU Dept 7670, PO Box 6050
Fargo, ND 58108

Phone: (701) 231-7406
Fax: (701) 231-8474
Email:Esther.mcginnis@ndsu.edu

 

OHIO

Pam Bennett
Master Gardener State Coordinator
OSU Extension, Clark Co.
4400 Gateway Blvd. Suite 104
Springfield, OH 45502

Phone: (937) 328-4607
Fax: (937) 328-4609
Email:bennett.27@osu.edu

 

OKLAHOMA

David Hillock
Oklahoma State Univ., Dept. of Horticulture & Landscape Architecture
360 Agri. Hall
Stillwater, OK 74078

Phone: (405) 744-5158
Fax: (405) 744-9709
Email:david.hillock@okstate.edu

 

OREGON

Gail Langellotto
Master Gardener Coordinator
OSU-Dept of Horticulture
4017 Ag and Life Sciences Bldg
Corvalis, OR 97331-7304

Phone: 541-737-7304
Fax: 503-678-5986
Email:langellg@hort.oregonstate.edu

 

PENNSYLVANIA

Nancy Knauss
State Master Gardener Coordinator
Penn State Extension - Allegheny County
400 North Lexington Street
Pittsburgh, PA 15208

Phone: 412.473.2545
Email: njk12@psu.edu
 

RHODE ISLAND

Vanessa Venturini 
Cooperative Extension Master Gardener Coordinators

URI Outreach Center
3 East Alumni Avenue
Kingston, RI 02881-0804
Phone: (401) 874-7142
Fax: (401) 874-2259
Email: mastergardener@uri.edu
                    vanessa@uri.edu
                    kate @uri.edu

 

SOUTH CAROLINA

Dr. James H. Blake
State Master Gardener Coordinator
Clemson University Cooperative Extension Service - Pickens County
P. O. Box 995
Pickens, SC 29671

Phone: (864) 878-1394
Fax: (864)878-6712
Email: jblake@clemson.edu

 

SOUTH DAKOTA

Mary Roduner
Master Gardener Coordinator
Rapid City Regional Extension Center
1530 Samco Rd Rapid City,SD 57703

Phone: (605) 394-2236
Email:mary.roduner@sdstate.edu

 

TENNESSEE

Christopher M. Cooper, PhD
UT Extension - Shelby County
7777 Walnut Grove Road
Suite B, Box 21
Memphis, TN 38120-2140

Phone: 901/752-1207
Email: cmcooper@utk.edu

 

TEXAS

Jayla Fry
225 Horticulture/Forestry Sciences Bld
Texas A & M University
College Station, TX 77845-2134

Phone: 979-845-3308
Email: jbfry@ag.tamu.edu

 

UTAH

 

VERMONT

Heather Carrington
Master Gardener State Coordinator
University of Vermont Extension
Jeffords Hall - Room 206
63 Carrigan Dr.
Burlington VT 05405

Email: Heather.Carrington@UVM.edu

 

VIRGINIA

David D. Close, Consumer Horticulture and Master Gardener Specialist
Department of Horticulture
407 Saunders Hall
Blacksburg, VA. 24061-0327

Phone: (540) 231-2714
Fax: (540) 231-3083
Email:dclose@vt.edu

John Freeborn, Assistant Master Gardener Coordinator
Virginia Tech, Department of Horticulture
407 Saunders (0327)
Phone: (540) 231-2714
freeborn@vt.edu

 

WASHINGTON

Nicole Martini
Interim State Master Gardener Program Leader
2606 West Pioneer
Puyallup, WA 98371-4998

Phone: (253) 445-4516
Fax:  (253) 445-4571

Email: nmartini@wsu.edu

 

WASHINGTON, DC

Sandy Farber Bandier
Environmental and Natural Resources Extension Agent
Master and Junior Master Gardener Coordinator
University of the District of Columbia Cooperative Extension Service
4200 Connecticut Ave NW Washington, DC 20008

Phone:(202) 274-7166
Fax:(202) 274-7130

 

WEST VIRGINIA

Dr. John W. Jett
Ag. Science Bldg., Room 2088
P.O. Box 6108, West Virginia University
Morgantown, WV. 26506-6108

Phone: (304) 293-6131 x4224
Fax: (304) 293-6954
Email: John.Jett@mail.wvu.edu

 

WISCONSIN

R. Michael Maddox
Director, Wisconsin Master Gardener Volunteer Program
University of Wisconsin-Extension, Cooperative Extension
e-mail: mike.maddox@ces.uwex.edu

Dr. Susan E. Rice Mahr
Coordinator, Wisconsin Master Gardener Volunteer Program
University of Wisconsin-Madison, Department of Horticulture
e-mail: semahr@facstaff.wisc.edu

Wisconsin Master Gardener Volunteer Program
1575 Linden Drive
University of Wisconsin- Madison
Madison, WI. 53706

Phone: (608) 265-4504
Fax: (608) 262-4743

 

WYOMING

Chris Hilgert
100 E University Ave.
Dept. 3354
Laramie, WY 82071

Phone: 307-766-3103
Email: chilgert@uwyo.edu

 

Master Gardener Affiliate Programs

These programs are not administered by a state land-grant university or its Cooperative Extension Service, but have been affiliated with the Extension Master Gardener program through their involvement with the bi-annual International Master Gardener Conference (IMGC) and Search for Excellence awards program. Through IMGC,  a tradition of volunteer and educational service are honored.

MASSACHUSETTS

West Massachusetts Master Gardener Association
66 Rural Lane
East Longmeadow, MA 01028
Phone: 413-525-6742

CANADIAN PROVINCES

Alberta

Atlantic (multiple provinces)

British Columbia

Manitoba

Ontario

Saskatchewan

 

 

Master Gardener Coordinators requesting changes to this list can send requests to emg@extension.org